About (概要)

Japan’s Geography

The country of Japan is split into eight regions over six different islands. The eight regions are also split into 47 different prefectures, which are similar to counties in England. The map below shows the outline of the prefectures and also the regions are separate colours (red: Hokkaido, yellow: Tohoku, green: Kanto, light blue: Chubu, dark blue: Kansai, orange, Chugoku, purple: Shikoku and grey: Kyushu).


Fujieda MYFC’s History

Fujieda MYFC is a football team currently competiing in the third tier of Japanese football, the Japan Football League (JFL). They are sometimes known as just MYFC. It is based in the town of Fujieda in the prefecture of Shizuoka, which follows the coast of the Pacific Ocean at Surugu Bay.

The club was oringinally founded in 2004 but in 2009, the club became supporter owned and renamed themselves Fujieda MYFC after the company which allows fans to become owners of their clubs called My Football Club. July 15 2009 was the date the club was founded in its current state.

The club player their home games at two different stadiums, the Fujieda Sports Complex Park and the Fujieda Citizen Ground. The first has a capacity of 13,000 and the latter  has space for 3,000. Home matches are split out between the two grounds evenly.

In 2011, the club won their regional league (fourth tier of Japanese football), called Tokai, and qualified to the All Japan Regional Football Promotion League Series. This is a tournament where all nine regional league winners plus the All Japan Senior Cup winners and a team chosen by the FA, compete for promotion to the JFL. Fujieda were runners up in the tournament and therefore won promotion.

In 2012, the club played their first season in the third tier of Japanese football, finishing with a respectable 40 points from their 32 matches meaning the club finished 11th out of a 17 team league.

The 2013 season saw Fujieda finish 13th in the JFL. However, more significantly, they also gained a license to be able to play in the inaugural season of Japan’s new third tier, J League Division 3. The club will compete in this division in 2014.


One thought on “About (概要)

  1. Speaking in football terms, your map is wrong. Yamanashi is part of Kanto and Mie is part of Tokai. Chubu is divided into Hokushinetsu (Niigata, Nagano, Toyama, Kanazawa and Fukui) and Tokai (Shizuoka, Aichi, Gifu, and the aforementioned Mie).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s